Subscribe to the EPMA Mailing List

01 April 2019

Election Time at the EPMA Sees New President, Treasurer and Council Elected

  • Share this page:

The European Powder Metallurgy Association’s (EPMA) General Assembly took place, held at the Crowne Plaza Brussels - Le Palace Hotel, Brussels on 21 March.

EPMA General Assembly 2019 - New president and treasurer

The General Assembly (GA) brought together a number of EPMA Members to network and take part in the various Sectoral Group meetings, as well as discuss pertinent issues relating to the future of the PM industry and the Association.

During the GA there were updates and presentations from Philippe Gundermann, EPMA President regarding the PM Industry Trends and Statistics from the various represented PM sectors. Lionel Aboussouan, EPMA Executive Director provided updates on the various EPMA projects and activities undertaken by the association during 2018. Kate Blackbourne, EPMA Congress Manager gave insight into last year’s most successful Euro PM2018 Congress & Exhibition, with Andrew Almond, EPMA Marketing Manager providing details of last year’s marketing and promotional work. Bruno Vicenzi, EPMA’s new Technical Manager, explained about the various EU projects EPMA has been involved with during the last 12-months.

The Keynote Speeches towards the end of the GA schedule saw Mr Guy Thiran, Executive Director, Eurometaux, provided an update on "Regulatory developments of interest to the Powder Metallurgy Industry".

The second Keynote presentation was provided by Prof Thilo Bein, Fraunhofer LBF / Chairman for Materials, Design and Production Task Force, European Automotive Research Partners Association (EARPA), on "Advanced Lightweight Design – Challenges and Trends".

Every three years, the EPMA Statutes require an election to be held to form a new EPMA Council (terms renewable indefinitely), as well as a new EPMA President and Treasurer, (both subject to a maximum of 2 terms). As the tenure of the current EPMA President and Treasurer was at an end, it was time to elect a new President & Treasurer with the newly formed Council electing the new Board, President and Treasurer as their first task. Ralf Carlstrom, Digital Metal AB, was elected as EPMA President (2019 - 2022), succeeding Philippe Gundermann, Eramet Group who served the maximum permitted two terms in the role (2013-2019).

A new EPMA Treasurer was also elected, with Pierre Blanchard, Erasteel Kloster AB, (2019 – 2022) taking over the responsibility of EPMA’s finances for the next 3-year term from Peter Kjeldsteen, Sintex A/S the outgoing Treasurer who also served the maximum permitted two terms in the role (2013-2019).  

The new EPMA Council was elected by a ballot of Full Member companies in advance of the meeting for the period of 2019 - 2022, with some new companies joining the council for the very first time, these being:

  • Pometon SpA represented by Carlo Sgarbossa
  • Polmo Lomianki SA represented by Izabela Kulszewicz

This year’s Council Election was well represented with 26 applicants for the 20 seats available, showing the support from the Members, who want to join and participate in the associations’ organisation. 

The EPMA Secretariat and PM Community look forward to welcoming the new President, Treasurer and Council Members into their respective roles during the course of their tenures.

EPMA Members who were unable to attend in person the EPMA General Assembly can view the video footage of the GA presentations via the EPMA Members area in due course.

A full listing of all the EPMA Council/Board Members and their respective positions within the structure of the EPMA can be found on the EPMA Council page.

Go To Top