Operated on a yearly basis (biennially prior to 2016), the EPMA PM Thesis Competition is designed to stimulate and encourage young researchers in PM. It is open to any students studying within the EU in two categories – PhD and Masters.

The aim of the competition is to develop interest in and promote powder metallurgy among young scientists at European academic establishments, and to encourage research at under-graduate and post-graduate levels.

It offers financial prizes (sponsored by metals-logo) to the winners who also have the opportunity to present their work to the EPMA conference and receive a plaque from the EPMA President.

For more information and to sumbit an entry to this year’s Thesis Competition, please visit the Thesis Competition website

Previous winners can be seen below:


PhD category winner

Dr. Jiahui Dong

“Mg” Bone: ink extrusion-based additive manufacturing of Mg implants

Master category winner

Dipl-Ing Florian Häslich

Additive Manufacturing of Pure Copper: Microstructure and Selected Properties


PhD category winner

Dr. techn. Lukas Kaserer, BSc. MSc

Laser Powder Bed Fusion of the Refractory Metal Molybdenum Material and Process Development


PhD category winner

Dr Felicity Freeman

Structuring Difference: The Additive Manufacture of Spatially and Functionally Differentiated Microstructures

Master category winner

Ing Gerald Wilhelm

Development of a hybrid preheating concept for the additive manufacturing of brittle multi material components


PhD category winner

Dr Miguel de Dios

Synthesis, Processing and Mechanical Characterization of Titanium Carbonitride based cermet through the combination of Colloidal and Powder Metallurgy techniques.

Master category winner

Mr Juan Alfonso Naranjo Simarro

Rapid Prototyping Of Metal Parts Based On Fused Filament Fabrication Technology


PhD category winner

Dr Chu Lun Alex Leung

The winner in the Doctorate category was Dr Chu Lun Alex Leung of The University of Manchester, United Kingdom, for his thesis “X-ray Imaging of Powder Consolidation During Laser Additive Manufacturing​”.


PhD category winner

Dr Thomas Lapauw

Mn+1 AXn Phase-Structured Carbides for Nuclear Applications

Master category winner

Dipl-Ing Kevin Ouda

Determination of Retained Austenite in Differently Alloyed Steels by Magnetic Measurements


PhD category winner

Dr Bey Vrancken

Study of Residual Stresses in Selective Laser Melting

Master category winner

Dipl-Ing Silvia Baselli

Shrinkage Kinetics Model of Uniaxial Cold Compacted Green Iron


PhD category winner

Dr Elena Bernardo Quejido

Optimization of Liquid Phases for Sintering Low Alloy Steels: Effect on Microstructure and Dimensional Control

Master category winner

Mr Uriel Tradowsky

Selective Laser Melting of AlSi10Mg: Influence of Post-Processing on the Microstructure and Mechanical Properties


PhD category winner

Dr Annabel Braem

The Development of bio-functional porous coatings for bone implants

Master category winner

Mr David Lang

Characterization of the precipitation mechanism in the molybdenum based alloy MHC.


PhD category winner

Dr Catalina Elena Jiménez

Characterisation and modification of powders used to make Al-based metal foams

Master category winner

Bruno José Jordão Marques

Stainless Steel as an alternative binder in WC based composites


PhD category winner

Dr Claas Bierwisch

Numerical Simulations of Granular Flow and Filling

Master category winner

Miss Ilaria Forno

Influence on atmosphere and cooling rate on properties of sinter-hardened steels