The EPMI (European Powder Metallurgy Institutes) Working Group has just chosen a new co-chair for the next 4 years. As Prof. Elena Gordo (UC3M Madrid) had reached the end of her 4 years as co-chair, an election procedure with 3 candidates was run, and the new co-chair, from 1st February 2024 to 31st January 2028, will be Prof. Dr.-Ing. Thomas Weißgärber (IFAM Dresden, TU Dresden).

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Thomas Weißgärber is head of the Dresden branch of the Fraunhofer Institute for Manufacturing Technology and Advanced Materials IFAM and a member of the institute’s management. He has held the professorship of Powder Metallurgy at TU Dresden since 01.04.2022. His expertise lies in the areas of powder metallurgy and additive manufacturing. He has worked on various material groups such as metal matrix composites, dispersion-strengthened materials, high-temperature, and lightweight materials and has published more than 200 articles and been involved in more than 18 patent applications. In 2018, he was awarded the “Skaupy Award”, the highest honour in the German-speaking world in the field of powder metallurgy and 2022 he received the EPMA Fellowship award.

Thomas will be joining the other co-chair, Adj.Prof., Dr. Dr.Habil Susanne Norgren (Sandvik AB and Lund University), who will maintain the position until January 2026, leading the group.

EPMA thanks Thomas for his commitment and is certain that a fruitful collaboration in the upcoming years will facilitate the activities of the EPMI Working Group. At the same time, the EPMA also would like to thank Elena for her helpful work in the past four years, and all the candidates for their availability.

For details about EPMI, see here

Leave A Comment

Receive the latest news in your email
Table of content
Related articles